Date: April 21, 1978 Category:

Heavy Horses is the eleventh studio album by Jethro Tull, released on 10 April 1978.

It is considered the second album in a trilogy of folk-rock albums by Jethro Tull, although folk music’s influence is evident on a great number of Jethro Tull releases. The album abandons much of the folk lyrical content typical of the previous studio album, Songs from the Wood (1977), in exchange for a more realist perspective on the changing world. Likewise, the band sound is harder and tighter.

The album reached No. 19 on the Billboard 200 album chart, and peaked at No. 20 on the UK Albums Chart. The third album in the folk-rock trilogy is Stormwatch (1979).

This album was the last studio album to feature John Glascock playing bass on all tracks.

Jethro Tull:

Ian Anderson – vocals, flute, mandolin, acoustic guitar, whistles
Martin Barre – electric guitar
Barriemore Barlow – percussion, drums
John Evan – organ, piano
David Palmer – keyboards, pipe organ, orchestral arrangements
John Glascock – bass guitar, (uncredited) backing vocals

Guest musician:
Darryl Way – violin on “Acres Wild” and “Heavy Horses”.

Heavy Horses 78



All songs written and composed by Ian Anderson.

Side one
No. Title Length
1. “…And the Mouse Police Never Sleeps” 3:11
2. “Acres Wild” 3:22
3. “No Lullaby” 7:55
4. “Moths” 3:24
5. “Journeyman” 3:55
Side two
No. Title Length
6. “Rover” 4:17
7. “One Brown Mouse” 3:21
8. “Heavy Horses” 8:58
9. “Weathercock” 4:02